Talking Sports

Sports news, reviews, interviews and exclusive content

Giannis Antetokounmpo in the history books!

Giannis Antetokounmpo has been announced as this season’s Defensive Player of the Year, receiving 75 first place votes and beating Los Angeles Lakers centre Anthony Davis, who received 14, Gobert received 6.

When it comes to both MVP’s and Defensive Player of the Year awards only him, Michael Jordan, Kevin Garnett, David Robinson and Hakeem Olajuwon have achieved this.

If the Greek Freak goes on to win the illustrious MVP award he will join both Jordan and Olajuwon as the only names to win both these awards in the same season.

Ben Simmons, Bam Adebayo and Patrick Beverley also received first place points.

The Bucks were the most dominant defensive team in the NBA this year, and Antetokounmpo only gave up 97.4 points per 100 possessions, the best in the NBA this season.

Antetokounmpo joins Sidney Moncrief as the only two Bucks players to win this award.

Photo Source: NBA.

Powered by Live Score & Live Score App